The Windy City of Chicago

  
I’m on a roadtrip across America and my first stop is Chicago, Illinois. Known as “The Windy City”. 

I think it might be obvious that I have a thing for mountains and nature itself – but there’s a piece of me that thouroughly enjoys the rush and energy of a big city, as well.

I’m not here for long, but that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy it. I arrived, unpacked my bags at my couchsurfing host’s home, and was taught how to request a taxi ride. First thing you need to know while being in Chicago, of course. 

I took a ride to Millenium Park, grabbed a White Chocolate Mocha, and walked the streets of the busy city. Stopping in shops along the way.

  
I spent the evening eating pizza (typical) from a place called Roots with my couchsurfing host Rob, and another couchsurfer from Turkey. She shared with us a traditional alcoholic drink from Turkey called “Rakı”. It tasted like black licorice, you have to mix it with water though……it’s not called the “Lions Milk” for nothing. Phew.

   

 As I type this, I’m sitting at a place called The Breakfast Club before I have to head out for my next state. Chicago is beautiful, it was nice to get some big city life in before I head out to the deserts and mountains. 
I had an amazing couchsurfing host, Rob, who was easy to converse with. Not to mention he had KILLER art work around his home that he shared with me.

Overall: GREAT EXPERIENCE!

Off to Nebraska.  

 Sitting on the outskirts of “the bean”.

Xoxoxo, Kim Charters • AS KIM TRAVELS •

The Windy City of Chicago

Leave a Reply

